Snapchat Safety Tips
We have seen a recent rise in Snapchat accounts being compromised to extract explicit images. These images are then being used for Blackmail or financial gain. To help prevent this from happening to you we have created some social media safety top tips.
SNAPCHAT SAFETY TOP TIPS:
Use a strong password, 3 random words with upper and lower case characters including numbers and symbols.
Enable 'Two-Step Verification'
Never share your password or authentication codes
Regularly check your recovery information is correct (email, mobile number etc.)
Manage your discover content (Under discover in settings)
Make sure you have checked and updated your privacy settings recently!
Who Can See Me in Quick Add: Choose who can see you in 'Quick Add', a feature that appears around Snapchat which makes it easier to add friends.
Who Can See My Location: Choose who can view your location on the 'Snap Map'. When you open Snap Map for the first time you will get a prompt to chose your location settings for the map.
Who Can Contact Me: Choose who can contact you directly with snaps, chats, calls, etc.
Who Can View My Story: Choose who can view your Story. Tap ‘Custom’ if you’d like to block specific friends from seeing your story. If you are a public profile, you will have to go to your profile to adjust your 'My Story' privacy settings.
Change the Memories settings: You can change how your Snaps are saved to 'Memories' and your device’s camera roll, and how your 'Memories' are backed up.
Saved destinations: Allows you to choose where your images and videos are saved. Using the save button you can choose where the images are saved
If you choose ‘My Friends', anyone you are in a group with, will be able to communicate with you in group chat. To see who’s in a Group before you jump in, just press and hold on the name of the group in the Chat screen!
If you choose ‘My Friends', you won’t see Snaps sent to you by non-friends — you’ll just get a notification that they added you as a friend. If you add them back, you’ll be able to see the Snap they sent you.
If you choose 'Everyone’ for ‘Who Can Contact Me,’ even 'SnapChatters' you haven't added will be able to send you snaps and chats.
If you post a snap to your Story, and then change your settings so only friends can see your story, others may still be able to see the Snaps you posted before the change.
IMPORTANT NEXT STEP:
If your social media account has been hacked, then it's crucial to check the following steps within your email account that links to your social media here
DON'T USE YOUR SNAPCHAT ACCOUNT ANYMORE?
Consider deleting your account if you will not use it again, its easy to do...
Go to the 'Accounts Portal' and type in the username and password for the account you want to delete. (Keep this info handy in case you change your mind and want to reactivate your account.)
After taking the steps to delete your account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days. While your account is deactivated, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.
After 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. This means that your account, account settings, friends, snaps, chats, story, device data, and location data in our main user database will be deleted.
How to reactivate your Snapchat account:
Want to reactivate your account? Just log back in to the Snapchat app with your username within 30 days of deactivating your account.
While your account is deactivated, you can only log in with your username and password. You can’t log in with your email address and you can’t change your password.
Please Note: It can sometimes take 24 hours before a deactivated account can be reactivated.
If you need to report this type of crime or contact one of our protect team click here for contact details.